Nicki Minaj Announced as Host for the 2023 MTV Video Music Awards

9 Min Read

Get ready for an unforgettable night of music and entertainment as Nicki Minaj returns to take the stage at the highly anticipated 2023 MTV Video Music Awards. This New York rap icon will not only be hosting, but also gracing us with a captivating performance. Building on the success of her previous dual role alongside co-hosts LL Cool J and Jack Harlow, Nicki is sure to bring her signature flair and energy to this prestigious event. Mark your calendars for Tuesday, September 12th at 8 p.m. ET when the VMAs will be broadcasting live from Prudential Center in Newark, N.J. You won’t want to miss a moment of this star-studded evening!

In the previous year, Nicki Minaj achieved an incredible feat by winning the esteemed Best Hip-Hop Video award and receiving the prestigious Video Vanguard Award. Her remarkable videos throughout her illustrious rap career undoubtedly played a significant role in this well-deserved recognition. This year, it is now Diddy’s turn to be honored with the highly coveted Global Icon Award at this grand event. It goes to show that these talented artists continue to make a profound impact on the music industry.

When it comes to the nominees, SZA takes the lead with an impressive six nominations. Not far behind, Doja Cat and Nicki are neck and neck with an equally impressive five nominations each. These talented artists have certainly made their mark in the music industry.

MTV has curated an extraordinary lineup of top-tier performers that is sure to captivate audiences. Prepare to be blown away as the stage is graced by talented artists such as Doja Cat, A Boogie Wit Da Hoodie, Future, Cardi B and Megan Thee Stallion. Joining them are the exceptional talents of Metro Boomin, Nav, Swae Lee and the legendary Lil Wayne who will be premiering his highly anticipated track “Kat Food”. This star-studded event promises an unforgettable experience that will leave music lovers in awe.

Discover the complete list of nominees below

2023 MTV Video Music Award Nominees

Video of the Year Doja Cat – “Attention” Miley Cyrus – “Flowers Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl” Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy” SZA – “Kill Bill” Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Artist of the Year Beyoncé Doja Cat Karol G Nicki Minaj Shakira Taylor Swift

Song of the Year Miley Cyrus – “Flowers” Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down” Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy” Steve Lacy – “Bad Habit” SZA – “Kill Bill” Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero”

Best New Artist GloRilla Ice Spice Kaliii Peso Pluma PinkPantheress Reneé Rapp

Push Performance of the Year August 2022: Saucy Santana – “Booty” September 2022: Stephen Sanchez – “Until I Found You” October 2022: JVKE – “Golden Hour” November 2022: Flo Milli – “Conceited” December 2022: Reneé Rapp – “Colorado” January 2023: Sam Ryder – “All The Way Over” February 2023: Armani White – “GOATED” March 2023: FLETCHER – “Becky’s So Hot” April 2023: TOMORROW X TOGETHER – “Sugar Rush Ride” May 2023: Ice Spice – “Princess Diana” June 2023: FLO – “Losing You” July 2023: Lauren Spencer Smith – “That Part”

Best Collaboration David Guetta & Bebe Rexha – “I’m Good (Blue)” Post Malone, Doja Cat – “I Like You (A Happier Song)” Diddy feat. Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, Yung Miami – “Gotta Move On” Karol G, Shakira – “TQG” Metro Boomin with The Weeknd, 21 Savage, and Diddy – “Creepin’ (Remix)” Rema & Selena Gomez – “Calm Down”

Best Hip-Hop Diddy feat. Bryson Tiller, Ashanti, Yung Miami – “Gotta Move On” DJ Khaled feat. Drake & Lil Baby – “Staying Alive” GloRilla & Cardi B – “Tomorrow 2” Lil Uzi Vert – “Just Wanna Rock” Lil Wayne feat. Swizz Beatz & DMX – “Kant Nobody” Metro Boomin feat. Future – “Superhero (Heroes and Villains)” Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”

Best R&B Alicia Keys feat. Lucky Daye – “Stay” Chlöe feat. Chris Brown – “How Does It Feel” Metro Boomin with the Weeknd, 21 Savage, and Diddy – “Creepin’ (Remix)” SZA – “Shirt” Toosii – “Favorite Song” Yung Bleu & Nicki Minaj – “Love in the Way”

Best Direction Doja Cat – “Attention” – Directed by Tanu Muiño Drake – “Falling Back” – Director X (Julien Christian Lutz) Kendrick Lamar – “Count Me Out” – Directed by Dave Free & Kendrick Lamar Megan Thee Stallion – “Her” – Directed by Colin Tilley Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy” – Directed by Floria Sigismondi SZA – “Kill Bill” – Directed by Christian Breslauer Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero” – Directed by Taylor Swift

Best Cinematography Adele – “I Drink Wine” – Cinematography by Adam Newport-Berra Ed Sheeran – “Eyes Closed” – Cinematography by Natasha Baier Janelle Monae – “Lipstick Lover” – Cinematography by Allison Anderson Kendrick Lamar – “Count Me Out” – Cinematography by Adam Newport-Berra Miley Cyrus – “Flowers” – Cinematography by Marcell Rev Olivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” – Cinematography by Russ Fraser Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero” – Cinematography by Rina Yang

Best Visual Effects Fall Out Boy – “Love From the Other Side” – Visual Effects by Thomas Bailey and Josh Shaffner Harry Styles – “Music for a Sushi Restaurant” – Visual Effects by Chelsea Delfino and Black Kite Studios Melanie Martinez – “VOID” – Visual Effects by Carbon Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl” – Visual Effects by Max Colt and Sergio Mashevskyi Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy” – Visual Effects by Max Colt / FRENDER Taylor Swift – “Anti-Hero” – Visual Effects by Parliament

Best Choreography BLACKPINK – “Pink Venom” – Choreography by Kiel Tutin, Sienna Lalau, Lee Jung (YGX), Taryn Cheng (YGX) Dua Lipa – “Dance the Night (From Barbie the Album)” – Choreography by Charm LaDonna Jonas Brothers – “Waffle House” – Choreography by Jerry Reece Megan Thee Stallion – “Her” – Choreography by Sean Bankhead Panic! at the Disco – “Middle of a Breakup” – Choreography by Monika Felice Smith Sam Smith, Kim Petras – “Unholy” – Choreography by (LA)HORDE – Marine Brutti, Jonathan Debrouwer, Arthur Harel

Best Art Direction boygenius – “the film” – Art Direction by Jen Dunlap BLACKPINK – “Pink Venom” – Art Direction by Seo Hyun Seung (GIGANT) Doja Cat – “Attention” – Art Direction by Spencer Graves Lana Del Rey feat. Jon Batiste – “Candy Necklace” – Art Direction by Brandon Mendez Megan Thee Stallion – “Her” – Art Direction by Niko Philipides SZA – “Shirt” – Art Direction by Kate Bunch

Best EditingBLACKPINK – “Pink Venom” – Editing by Seo Hyun Seung (GIGANT)Kendrick Lamar – “Rich Spirit” – Edited by Grason CaldwellMiley Cyrus – “River” – Edited by Brandan WalterOlivia Rodrigo – “Vampire” – Edited by Sofia Kerpan and David ChecelSZA – “Kill Bill” – Edited by Luis Caraza PeimbertTaylor Swift – “Anti-Hero” – Edited by Chancler Haynes

Share This Article
1 Comment